Adal Sultanate

Adal Sultanate(1415-1526) (Adel, Adail, Adaiel, Adem, Adela) was a sultanate that evolve from the collapse of Yifat/Ifat in 1415, becoming the most powerful muslim state in the Horn of Africa. The region included eastern Shoa, on the Djibouti and Eritrean border, with most territory in Eritrea. Adal was then a district of Ifat. The sultanate assumed the legacy of Ifat. The Walashma Dynasty revived the old sultanate and ruled till 1526. Djamal al-Din II (1425-1432) is known for initiating expansion of the sultanate. During the early 1500s under commander Mahfuz, Adal with assistance from the Ottoman Empire attacked the eastern province of Ethiopia, causing Ethiopia to request assistance from Portugal. In 1516, Ethiopia inflicted a massive defeat to Adal. The sultanate came to an end by defeat at the hands of the amirate of Harar in 1526. In 1559 , Ethiopia was able to regain most of her territory lost to Adal.

Sultan Description 
Sabir ad-Din II(1415-1526)  
al-Mansur II(1422-1425)  
Jamal ad-Din II(1425-1432) 
Shahah ad-Din , Badlai ,(1432-1445)  
Muhammad I, (1445-1471)  
Ibrahim I, (1471-1472)  
Shams ad-Din, (1472-1487)  
Ibrahim II, (1487-1488)  
Muhammad II,(1488-1518)  
Ali , (1518-1519)  
Fakhr ad Din , (1519-1520)  
Abu Bakr , (1520-1526)