Akan States

Akan States were states that evolve in present day Ghana. They include: Akyem, Asante, Assin, Akuapem, Akuamu, Bono (Bron), Denkyira, Etsi, Fante, Gyaaman, Kwahu, Twifo, and Wassa. The Akan evolved around 1000 A.D. in the Amansie-Adansie region.

Related Article: Baoule, Jamaican English Creole , Negerhollands , Kromanti ,Slavery in the Danish Caribbean , Suriname Maroons

Works Cited

Shillington, Kevin(2005). Encyclopedia of African history: A-G, Volume 1. CRC Press, ISBN 1579582451, 9781579582456

tags: ghana