Benin Families and Related Salutations

The culture of Edo people is steep in its religious tradition. In its religious world view, Osanobuwa(Osanobua, Osanghodua) is the supreme God. Osanobuwa can only be communicated with via family ancestors, enikaro. Remaining true to traditional world view of ancestor connection to God is reflected in the morning greetings of Edos. Each Edo family has a unique salution, connecting to founding ancestors. Eighty five families existed among the Edo people. The following is a list of some of the families and their unique greetings:
Family Name                                                                  Salutation
1 Royal family ( First royal period from Ogiso era)        Delaiso ( Laiso)

2 Royal Family ( second Royal Period from Eweka 1)    Lamogun

3 Iyase of Benin                                                             Lavbieze

4 Oliha of Benin                                                             Laogele

5 Edohen of Benin                                                         Latose

6 Isiemwenro                                                                 Latose

7 Ezomo of Benin                                                         lagiesan

8 Ero of Benin                                                               Lamosun

9 Eholor Nire of Benin                                                   Laire

10 Oloton of Benin                                                        Lamehi

11 Elema of Benin                                                         Lagba

12 Ogiamen of Benin                                                    Laire

13 Ogiefa of Benin                                                        Larendo(Laidu)

14 Ine N'Igun of Benin                                                  Delani ( or Lani)

15 Osa of Benin                                                            Delaiki( or Laiki)

16 Osuan of Benin                                                        Labo

17 Enogie of Ugo N' Iyekorhionmwon                            Labo

18 Osenugba                                                                 Labo

19 Odionwere N'Idumwun                                              Edo Labo

20 Iyase of Udo                                                             Lagiewan

21 Enogie of Ugo N'eki                                                 Delakun ( or Lakun)

22 Enogie of ute                                                            Lagite

23 Ise of Utekon                                                            Laeru

24 Iyase of Uselu                                                           Layede

25 Elawure of Usen                                                       Delauhe ( Lauhe)

26 Ezima (or Ojima) of Okeluhen                                   Layeru

27 Enogie of Uvbe                                                         Lauvbe

28 Enogie of Ehor                                                         Dalaeho ( or Laeho)

29 Eholor of Igieduma                                                   Delaihon (or laihon)

30 Olokhunmwun                                                          Delagun (or Lagun)

31 Umodu                                                                     Lamodu

32 Emezi                                                                       Lamezi

33 Eni of Uzae                                                              (Ijare) Lamore

34 Aide                                                                         Laide

35 Olumoru                                                                  Lamoru

36 Oloke                                                                       Laloke

37 Ughe                                                                        Laughe

38 Igie                                                                           laigie

39 Ugha                                                                        laugha

40 Ohenukoni of Eviekoi                                              Delaihe (or Laihe)

41 Enogie of Irhue                                                       Delalu(or Lalu )

42 Enogie of Evbokabua                                              Lavbiuwa

43 Emeri                                                                      Lameri

44 Agia                                                                        Lagia

45 Eze                                                                         Lamero

46 Emehe                                                                    Lamehe

47 Akpan                                                                     Delakpan (or Lakpan)

48 Umolu                                                                     Lamolu

49 Ize                                                                           Laize

50 Umokun                                                                  lamokun

51 Ureni                                                                       Lareni

52 Idu                                                                          Laidu

53 Iren                                                                         lairen

54 Igiena                                                                     Laigena

55 Emekon                                                                 Lamekon

56 Enogie of Erua                                                       Lagierua
Works Cited

Prince Enaina Eweka. FAMILY MORNING SALUTATIONS IN EDO KINGDOM. Origins of Benin Chieftaincy Titles.