New Netherlands

New Netherlands was the area of New York City, parts of New Jersey, and parts of Connecticut. New Amsterdam(New York City) was the capital. It was established by the Dutch West India Company in 1624. The English took over the area in 1664. The afro-descendant population was very much accultured to Dutch culture, like Louisiana Creoles to the French culture.