Peru (Viceroyalty)

Peru Viceroyalty was one of four viceroyalties in Spanish colonial America. It originally was all of South America in 1542. It later included only Peru, Chile, Bolivia, and Ecuador. After 1778, only Peru and Chile were part of the viceroyalty. Lima was the seat of power. The other viceroyalties were New Spain, New Granada, and La Plata.